Fire Course Dates and Costs List

Note: Unless otherwise indicated, use the Academy Standard Form to register for courses.

Note: Class Dates up current are for 2017.

Weekday Night Classes start @ 7:30pm
Saturday & Sunday Classes start @ 8:00am

2017 Dates
CourseLengthDatesFees In-CountyFees Out-Of-County
EMT – Initial Certification
Registration at atlanticambulance.org
January through December$899.00$899.00
Prehospital Trauma Life Support  – PHTLS
Registration at atlanticambulance.org
January through September250.00250.00
CEVO III
Registration at atlanticambulance.org
January through December
See Atlantic Website for specific dates
80.0080.00

Fire Fighter 1 (1701)

Fire Fighter 1

  • January 23 – June 14, 2017 (1701)
    Orientation January 17, 2017, 7:30pm
  • January 24 – May 9, 2017 (1702)
    Orientation January 17, 2016 7:30pm
  • June 19 – July 17, 2017 (1703)
    Orientation June 12, 2017, 6:00pm
  • August 15 – December 9, 2017 (1706)
    Orientation August 8, 2017, 7:30pm

Along with the Academy registration form, the following must be read and/or completed to attend this class:

Fire Fighter 1 is the first level of a progressive program.  This level introduces the novice firefighter to the basics of nationally recognized fire fighting techniques.  Methods of instruction will include classroom theory as well as skill oriented “hands‑on” drill sessions.  Student performance will be evaluated throughout the course including mid‑term and final exams, both written and practical.  The New Jersey Division of Fire Safety’s standardized Fire Fighter 1 test is given as part of the final exam.

Fire Fighter 1 meets the performance objectives of the N.F.P.A. standard 1001 and N.J.A.C. 5:73‑4.3 standard which will allow a firefighter to perform firefighting under direct supervision.  All students will receive ICS Orientation, Bloodborne Pathogens, Right to Know and Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operational Levels of training as required by N.J.A.C. 5:75-6.1.  Full Personal Protective Equipment is required for ALL sessions.

Class size: Maximum 34 students

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

MANDATORY:  Completion of OSHA Respiratory Clearance Certification & Current Fit Test Documentation.

Course is approved for college credits by the County College of Morris.

21 weeks
Mondays, Wednesdays & FridaysOrientation January 17 – 7:30pm
01/23 – 06/14
No class 02/13, 02/20, 4/14, 5/29
250.00350.00

Fire Fighter 1 (1702)

Fire Fighter 1

  • January 23 – June 14, 2017 (1701)
    Orientation January 17, 2017, 7:30pm
  • January 24 – May 9, 2017 (1702)
    Orientation January 17, 2016 7:30pm
  • June 19 – July 17, 2017 (1703)
    Orientation June 12, 2017, 6:00pm
  • August 15 – December 9, 2017 (1706)
    Orientation August 8, 2017, 7:30pm

Along with the Academy registration form, the following must be read and/or completed to attend this class:

Fire Fighter 1 is the first level of a progressive program.  This level introduces the novice firefighter to the basics of nationally recognized fire fighting techniques.  Methods of instruction will include classroom theory as well as skill oriented “hands‑on” drill sessions.  Student performance will be evaluated throughout the course including mid‑term and final exams, both written and practical.  The New Jersey Division of Fire Safety’s standardized Fire Fighter 1 test is given as part of the final exam.

Fire Fighter 1 meets the performance objectives of the N.F.P.A. standard 1001 and N.J.A.C. 5:73‑4.3 standard which will allow a firefighter to perform firefighting under direct supervision.  All students will receive ICS Orientation, Bloodborne Pathogens, Right to Know and Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operational Levels of training as required by N.J.A.C. 5:75-6.1.  Full Personal Protective Equipment is required for ALL sessions.

Class size: Maximum 34 students

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

MANDATORY:  Completion of OSHA Respiratory Clearance Certification & Current Fit Test Documentation.

Course is approved for college credits by the County College of Morris.

16 weeks
Tuesdays & Saturdays
Orientation January 17 – 7:30pm
Filled course
01/24 – 05/09
No class 04/15
250.00350.00

Fire Officer Symposium

Fire Officer Symposium

This seminar is designed to provide new and current officers with information that can assist them in the performance of their duties. Some of the topics to be discussed will be the Morris County Highway Traffic Safety Plan, Fire Resources Deployment Act, Academy courses, Fire Prevention issues, OEM assets and responses, Communications, LODD information, OSHA compliance, APOLLO Team and much more. Also representatives from Fire Service associations will be speaking. This seminar is to present different arenas of the fire service and update information that has changed.

Attendees must hold a Supervisory rank in their Fire Department.

1 weekend
Friday / Saturday
01/ 27 & 01/28N/CN/C

Telecommunicator's Training–9-1-1 Basic 40 Hour Course

Telecommunicator’s Training – 911

Basic 40-Hour Course

The basic 40 Hour Telecommunicator Training Course, as approved by the Office of Emergency Telecommunication Service (OETS), is designed for dispatchers having less than 320 hours of public safety dispatch experience. The course addresses both functional jobs of complaint taker and dispatcher, rather than dealing with them separately. Likewise, it deals with the basics of telecommunications for all public safety services. All participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the State Office of Emergency Telecommunication Service as a P.S.A.P. operator.

Conducted by the Morris County Department of Law and Public Safety, Communications Division
Class size is limited to 25.

5 days
Monday thru Friday
01/30 – 02/03
8:30am – 4:30pm
175.00200.00
Core Refresher Courses
Registration at atlanticambulance.org
February through December80.0080.00
Pediatric Education for Prehospital Professionals (PEPP)
Registration at atlanticambulance.org
February through October80.0080.00
EMS Safety in the Streets
Registration at atlanticambulance.org
February  & September60.0060.00

Driver Simulator Training

Driver Simulator Training

This course is designed to reinforce a driver’s ability to develop a system that will assist in making sound decisions and reduce driving risk. Managing risk involves controlling visibility, time, space and being aware of the traction available. The “Driving Simulator” is a training device which includes a steering wheel, brake, and accelerator controls, and provides a feel similar to those experienced in a real car. Through the use of this new technology, the attendee will learn how to react to various traffic elements such as pedestrians, other vehicles and road conditions, and how to predict possible conflict with other highway users. The simulator allows for the measurement of reaction time, braking time and total stopping distance.

Class size is limited to 8.
This course is open to Fire, Police and EMS personnel.

Conducted by Sgt. Joseph Matits, Netcong Borough Police Department

1 day
Tuesday
Filled course
02/07
8:30am – 2:30pm
25.0050.00
Refresher Courses For Bloodborne Pathogens, Haz Mat Awareness, Right-To-Know And NIMS½ day
Tuesday
02/07
8:30am – 12:30pm
No Fee25.00

Fire Officer 1

Fire Officer 1

The Fire Officer Course curriculum is designed to give the fire company officer a comprehensive view of the fire organization and define his responsibility to the department, the public, and municipal management. It includes, but is not limited to, Fire Department Management, Fire Ground Command, and Suppression Principles and Techniques.

Class size: Minimum 10 – Maximum 20 students

Pre-requisite: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1 and ICS I-200

Course is approved for college credits by the County College of Morris.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

18 weeks
Wednesdays
02/08 – 06/07175.00225.00

Fire Instructor - Level 1

Fire Instructor Level 1

This 40 hour course of instruction meets the requirements of NFPA 1041, Standard for Fire Service Instructor Professional Qualifications, 2002 edition, specified at N.J.A.C. 5:73-5.2(c). Students will need the 8th edition of IFSTA Fire and Emergency Services Instructor manual.

Note: Drill Ground Instructor will be covered on the last day of this course.

Textbooks will NOT be provided. All students must purchase the required textbooks and manuals prior to attending class.

PRE-REQUISITE: 21 years of age and NJ Certified Firefighter 1 for three years.

5 weeks
Tuesdays & Thursdays
02/21 – 03/23
6:30pm – 10:30pm
250.00300.00

Fire Official

Fire Official

The course of study for Fire Official certification consists of a planned pattern of instruction and experiences. The course will provide at least thirty contact hours of instruction not including examination and support time. The course will also ensure, by examination, technical competence in the following areas: administration, supervision, budgeting, record keeping requirements, legal code enforcement, federal, state and local laws, duties of the fire official, coordination with construction and fire sub code officials.

This course is approved for credit toward a certification issued by the Department of Community Affairs pursuant to the Uniform Fire Safety Act.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 20 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Inspector
Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED: A current New Jersey Uniform Fire Code manual — this is not supplied by the Academy.

7 weeks
Tuesdays & Thursdays
02/21 – 04/06300.00400.00

Incident Size Up

Incident Size Up

Using nationally recognized techniques, this course will assist the Incident Commander or First Responder arriving on scene in performing the size-up process. A good size-up enhances the safety of the responders and increases the chances for a positive outcome. This course will cover those areas critical in performing the size-up process.

Class size: Minimum 15 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 day
Saturday
02/25
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

Fire Fighter 2 (1721)

Fire Fighter 2

  • February 28 – June 15, 2017 (1721)
  • August 14 – December 11, 2017 (1722)

Fire Fighter 2 is the second level of a progression which includes Fire Fighter 1, 2, and 3. Instruction at this level will be aimed at providing the student with the skills and knowledge necessary to function under general supervision. Students will learn how to function safely and effectively as an integral member of a fire fighting team. Successful students will be trained to perform fire fighting activities requiring the student to maintain direct communication with a supervisor. Full Personal Protective Equipment is required for all sessions.

Class size: Maximum 24 students

MANDATORY REQUIREMENT: Copy of current SCBA Fit Test to be handed in the first session.

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1 and a minimum of two years experience with a fire department. A letter stating active membership from the Fire Department Chief must accompany Registration for this course.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

16 weeks
Tuesdays & Thursdays
02/28 – 06/15250.00350.00

Fire Service Harness

Fire Service Harness

This six hour course is designed to instruct the student in the proper techniques of using a fire service harness. The student will learn how to rappel with the harness and the other uses of the harness.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 16 students

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED: Gemtor Fire Service Harness, Full Personal Protective Equipment

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter I

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

2 nights
Monday & Wednesday
Filled course
03/13 & 03/15
75.00100.00

Firefighting Strategy & Tactics

Firefighting Strategy and Tactics

Firefighting has a dual objective: saving lives and conserving property. To accomplish this objective as efficiently as possible, a sequence of operational responsibilities have been developed and refined over the years. This course is designed to meet the needs of Fire Officers with responsibilities to manage the operations of one or more companies in structural firefighting operations.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 day
Saturday
Canceled course
03/18
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

Vehicle Rescue Basics

Vehicle Rescue Basics

This course is an introduction to the elements of a vehicle rescue operation. Classroom lectures will include hazards and safety, co-ordination of agencies, vehicle anatomy and initial operations. Practical sessions will emphasize hazard control, stabilization and victim movement. Students will be instructed in the use of cribbing, struts, come-a-long and other basic hand tools.

Class size: Maximum 20 students

 2 weekends
Friday & Saturday
Canceled course
03/24 – 04/01
125.00150.00

Fire Instructor - Level 2

Fire Instructor Level 2

This 40 hour course of instruction meets the requirements of NFPA 1041, Standard for Fire Service Instructor Professional Qualifications, 2002 edition, specified at N.J.A.C. 5:73-5.3(c).

PRE-REQUISITE: 21 years of age, NJ Certified Firefighter 1 for three years and two years experience as an instructor.

5 weeks
Tuesdays
03/28 – 04/25
8:00am – 4:00pm
250.00300.00

FEMA NIMS I-200

FEMA NIMS I-200

  • April 3 & 4: 2 days (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • April 11, 13, 18 & 20 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • October 2 & 3: 2 days (starts at 8:30 a.m.)

This sixteen hour program addresses the need for an incident management system, an overview of the structure and expansibility of ICS, an understanding of the command skills needed by officers and firefighters to use ICS’ guidelines effectively, using scenario practices in its application. Appendixes including guidelines and resource information for setting up and implementing a departmental ICS will be provided.

This course will meet the requirements of N.J.A.C. 5:75-6.1 for certification of Incident Management Level I.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS I-100 and I-700

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

2 days
Monday & Tuesday
04/03 & 04/04
8:30am – 4:30pm
25.0050.00

Emergency Medical Dispatch

Emergency Medical Dispatch

A required course for 9-1-1 Telecommunicators. This state approved certification course will enable the student to properly answer, prioritize and dispatch calls for medical aid, and to provide instructions for preliminary emergency medical care prior to arrival of emergency medical personnel. This class will include practical exercises and demonstrations.

This course is being offered after the Basic Police Class graduates so that the recently graduated police officers can attend this course. Class size is limited to 25.

PRE-REQUISITE: 9-1-1 Telecommunicator’s Training & C.P.R. Certification. Copies of Certificates must accompany registration.

Conducted by the Morris County Department of Law and Public Safety
Communications Division

4 days
Tuesday thru Friday
04/04 – 04/07
8:30am – 4:30pm
75.00100.00

Rapid Intervention Crew / Safety And Survival

Rapid Intervention Crew / Safety and Survival Weekend

This weekend course will cover current techniques and procedures in Rapid Intervention Company (RIC) Operations as well as Firefighter Safety and Survival Skills. Stations will cover many subject areas including:

  • Emergency Window Egress
  • SCBA/Mask Confidence Skills
  • Below Grade Rescue
  • Wall Breach / SCBA Emergency Skills
  • Upper Floor Rescue
  • Ladder Bailout
  • Downed Firefighter Rescue Drills (Nance, Pittsburg, Rochester, Denver)

Friday night will involve lectures and course material presentations while Saturday and Sunday will be hands-on stations. This weekend course meets and exceeds the State’s guidelines for Rapid Intervention Crews. This course is exceptionally physically demanding. Candidates shall have a minimum of one-year of firefighting experience and shall be OSHA Respiratory Cleared and within Fit-Test guidelines. Please note scheduled starting times:

  • Friday – 6:30 P.M. Registration / 7:00 P.M. Lecture & Presentations
  • Saturday – 7:30 A.M. Start
  • Sunday – 7:30 A.M. Start

Cancellations must be made at least two business days prior to the start of the course so sufficient time is allowed to contact students from the waiting list. All students who do not attend the course – their department will be billed accordingly.

1 weekend
Fri., Sat. & Sun.
04/07 – 04/09225.00300.00

FEMA NIMS I-200

FEMA NIMS I-200

  • April 3 & 4: 2 days (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • April 11, 13, 18 & 20 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • October 2 & 3: 2 days (starts at 8:30 a.m.)

This sixteen hour program addresses the need for an incident management system, an overview of the structure and expansibility of ICS, an understanding of the command skills needed by officers and firefighters to use ICS’ guidelines effectively, using scenario practices in its application. Appendixes including guidelines and resource information for setting up and implementing a departmental ICS will be provided.

This course will meet the requirements of N.J.A.C. 5:75-6.1 for certification of Incident Management Level I.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS I-100 and I-700

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

4 nights
Tuesdays & Thursdays
Canceled course
04/11 – 04/20
7:00pm – 11:00pm
25.0050.00
Refresher Courses For Bloodborne Pathogens, Haz Mat Awareness, Right-To-Know And NIMS½ day
Thursday
Canceled course
04/13
12:30pm – 4:30pm
No Fee25.00

Driver Simulator Training

Driver Simulator Training

This course is designed to reinforce a driver’s ability to develop a system that will assist in making sound decisions and reduce driving risk. Managing risk involves controlling visibility, time, space and being aware of the traction available. The “Driving Simulator” is a training device which includes a steering wheel, brake, and accelerator controls, and provides a feel similar to those experienced in a real car. Through the use of this new technology, the attendee will learn how to react to various traffic elements such as pedestrians, other vehicles and road conditions, and how to predict possible conflict with other highway users. The simulator allows for the measurement of reaction time, braking time and total stopping distance.

Class size is limited to 8.
This course is open to Fire, Police and EMS personnel.

Conducted by Sgt. Joseph Matits, Netcong Borough Police Department

1 day
Thursday
Filled course
04/13
8:30am – 2:30pm
25.0050.00

Rope I

Rope I

This 3 hour class is designed to refresh fire service personnel with the knot tying skills that were taught in Firefighter 1 and familiarize them with the basic knots that are used in technical rescue operations. Students are required to bring their fire service gloves to class. “Rope” gloves may be brought in addition to, but not in place of, fire service gloves.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 16 students

1 night04/2075.00100.00

Building Construction

Building Construction for the Fire Service

This class is designed to inform the student of different types of building construction. This knowledge will help the student better understand the possibilities of fire spread, collapse and the safety issues with each type of construction.

Class size: Minimum 15 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 SaturdayCanceled course
04/22
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

Vehicle Rescue Hand Tools

Vehicle Rescue Hand Tools

Hand tool theory, care, maintenance and operations will be presented in lectures and demonstrations. Students will operate all tools in both practice and operational scenarios. Lifting air bags, sawzall, jacks, air tools and pry bars will be emphasized.

Class size: Maximum 20 students

2 weekends
Friday & Saturday
Canceled course
04/28 – 05/06
125.00150.00

FEMA NIMS I-300

FEMA NIMS I-300

  • May 9, 10 & 11: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • May 16, 18, 23, 25, 30 & June 1 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • October 31, November 1 & 2: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • November 13, 15, 20, 27 & 29, & Dec 4 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This twenty-four hour program addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenarios and applications of using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

This course will meet the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 for certification of Incident Command Level 2 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order #50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students.

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS I-200

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

3 days
Tuesday thru Thursday
05/09 – 05/11
8:30am – 4:30pm
75.00100.00

Engine Company Operations

Engine Company Operations

This course is designed to cover the roles and responsibilities of the first and second arriving Engine Companies. This includes establishing a water source, stretching a dry attack line, stretching a wet attack line, line placement and searching off the line. This is a Friday night and all day Saturday course. Friday night will be conducted in a classroom and Saturday will be all day on the fire grounds. This course is along the same format as Truck Company Operations.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 20 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 weekend
Friday & Saturday
Canceled course
05/12 & 05/13
75.00100.00

Rope II

Rope II

This nine hour class is designed to teach the student basic rappelling skills. It will familiarize them with the basics of anchoring and belay systems that are used in technical rescue operations. “Rope” gloves are suggested. Harnesses used by the students’ department may also be brought to class.

Class size: Minimum 6 students – Maximum 12 students

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT: Students required to wear non-skid type boots with ankle support. Any rappel equipment being used by your department may be brought to this class.

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Rope I.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 SaturdayFilled course
05/13
75.00100.00

FEMA NIMS I-300

FEMA NIMS I-300

  • May 9, 10 & 11: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • May 16, 18, 23, 25, 30 & June 1 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • October 31, November 1 & 2: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • November 13, 15, 20, 27 & 29, & Dec 4 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This twenty-four hour program addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenarios and applications of using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

This course will meet the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 for certification of Incident Command Level 2 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order #50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students.

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS I-200

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

6 nights
Tuesdays & Thursdays
Canceled course
05/16 – 06/01
7:00pm – 11:00pm
75.00100.00

Developing SOP / SOG's for the Fire Service

Developing SOP / SOG’s for the Fire Service

This six-hour course is designed for those individuals who will be developing SOP / SOG’s for their department personnel. The importance of all departments having a document outlining polices, expected behavior and performance requirements cannot be over emphasized. Topics to be covered include differences between SOP / SOG’s, their importance, areas which need to be addressed, resources that should be used in their development and who should be involved in the development of the document.

Class size is limited to 40.

1 SaturdayCanceled course
05/20
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

Truck Company Operations

Truck Company Operations

The Truck Company Operations course curriculum will include the operations of aerial ladders, elevating platforms, special truck company operations, search and rescue and ventilation as it applies to truck companies. Students will be asked to provide additional apparatus for the hands-on portion of the course.

Minimum 10 Students – Maximum 20 Students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training academy.

1 weekend
Friday & Saturday
06/02 & 06/0375.00100.00

FEMA NIMS I-400

FEMA NIMS I-400

  • June 7 & 8 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • June 13, 15, 20, & 22 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • November 30 & December 1 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • December 5, 7, 12, & 14 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This sixteen hour course addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenario and applications for planned and unplanned events using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

For the best results of this course EMS, Fire and Police agencies need to be in attendance together. Outreach courses held by individual jurisdictions (towns, boroughs, fire districts) alone or in conjunction with other jurisdictions is preferred.

This course meets the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 certification of Incident Management Level 3 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order # 50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – maximum 40 students

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS-I-300

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

2 days
Wednesday & Thursday
06/07 & 06/08
8:30am – 4:30pm
75.00100.00

Vehicle Rescue Hydraulic Tools

Vehicle Rescue Hydraulic Tools

Hydraulic rescue tool theory, care, maintenance and operations will be presented in lectures and demonstrations. Students will operate all tools in both practice and operational scenarios. Use of “jaws”, cutters, rams, omni-tools and attachments will be presented.

Class size: Maximum 20 students

2 weekends
Friday & Saturday
Canceled course
06/09 – 06/17
125.00150.00

Rope II

Rope II

This nine hour class is designed to teach the student basic rappelling skills. It will familiarize them with the basics of anchoring and belay systems that are used in technical rescue operations. “Rope” gloves are suggested. Harnesses used by the students’ department may also be brought to class.

Class size: Minimum 6 students – Maximum 12 students

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT: Students required to wear non-skid type boots with ankle support. Any rappel equipment being used by your department may be brought to this class.

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Rope I.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 Saturday06/1075.00100.00

Driver Simulator Training

Driver Simulator Training

This course is designed to reinforce a driver’s ability to develop a system that will assist in making sound decisions and reduce driving risk. Managing risk involves controlling visibility, time, space and being aware of the traction available. The “Driving Simulator” is a training device which includes a steering wheel, brake, and accelerator controls, and provides a feel similar to those experienced in a real car. Through the use of this new technology, the attendee will learn how to react to various traffic elements such as pedestrians, other vehicles and road conditions, and how to predict possible conflict with other highway users. The simulator allows for the measurement of reaction time, braking time and total stopping distance.

Class size is limited to 8.
This course is open to Fire, Police and EMS personnel.

Conducted by Sgt. Joseph Matits, Netcong Borough Police Department

1 day
Tuesday
Filled course
06/13
8:30am – 2:30pm
25.0050.00

FEMA NIMS I-400

FEMA NIMS I-400

  • June 7 & 8 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • June 13, 15, 20, & 22 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • November 30 & December 1 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • December 5, 7, 12, & 14 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This sixteen hour course addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenario and applications for planned and unplanned events using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

For the best results of this course EMS, Fire and Police agencies need to be in attendance together. Outreach courses held by individual jurisdictions (towns, boroughs, fire districts) alone or in conjunction with other jurisdictions is preferred.

This course meets the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 certification of Incident Management Level 3 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order # 50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – maximum 40 students

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS-I-300

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

4 nights
Tuesdays & Thursdays
06/13 – 06/22
7:00pm – 11:00pm
75.00100.00

Fire Fighter 1 - Daytime (1703)

Fire Fighter 1

  • January 23 – June 14, 2017 (1701)
    Orientation January 17, 2017, 7:30pm
  • January 24 – May 9, 2017 (1702)
    Orientation January 17, 2016 7:30pm
  • June 19 – July 17, 2017 (1703)
    Orientation June 12, 2017, 6:00pm
  • August 15 – December 9, 2017 (1706)
    Orientation August 8, 2017, 7:30pm

Along with the Academy registration form, the following must be read and/or completed to attend this class:

Fire Fighter 1 is the first level of a progressive program.  This level introduces the novice firefighter to the basics of nationally recognized fire fighting techniques.  Methods of instruction will include classroom theory as well as skill oriented “hands‑on” drill sessions.  Student performance will be evaluated throughout the course including mid‑term and final exams, both written and practical.  The New Jersey Division of Fire Safety’s standardized Fire Fighter 1 test is given as part of the final exam.

Fire Fighter 1 meets the performance objectives of the N.F.P.A. standard 1001 and N.J.A.C. 5:73‑4.3 standard which will allow a firefighter to perform firefighting under direct supervision.  All students will receive ICS Orientation, Bloodborne Pathogens, Right to Know and Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operational Levels of training as required by N.J.A.C. 5:75-6.1.  Full Personal Protective Equipment is required for ALL sessions.

Class size: Maximum 34 students

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

MANDATORY:  Completion of OSHA Respiratory Clearance Certification & Current Fit Test Documentation.

Course is approved for college credits by the County College of Morris.

4 weeks
Mondays thru Fridays
Orientation 06/12 – 6:00pm
Filled course
06/19 – 07/17
No Class 07/04
250.00350.00

Junior Firefighting - Daytime (1704)

Junior Firefighting

  • June 26 – July 24 (Daytime) (1704)
    Orientation 06/12/17 (6 p.m.)
  • July 17 – August 11 (Daytime) (1705)
    Orientation 07/10/17 (6 p.m.)

Junior Training will consist of 150 hours which will include every part of our Fire Fighter 1 program except power tools.

Along with the Academy registration form, the following must be read and/or completed to attend this class:

The NJ Division of Fire Safety final examination will be administered at the end of this course. Upon completion of course a Junior Fire Fighter Program certificate will be issued. A Fire Fighter 1 certificate will be issued upon the recruits’ 18th birthday. Proof, in writing, that the student successfully completed power tools training with their department must be given to Academy.

Class size: Maximum 24 students

MANDATORY: Completion of OSHA Respiratory Clearance Certification & Current Fit Test Documentation

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

4 weeks
Mondays thru Fridays
Orientation 06/12 – 6:00pm
Filled course
06/26 – 07/24
No Class 07/04
250.00350.00

Rope III

Rope III – High Angle Rescue I

This twenty hour course is designed to emphasize the technical aspects of rope rescue. The course will use rappel racks, figure 8’s ascenders, pulleys, stokes baskets, etc. The majority of the class time will be spent in “Practical Operations” on the training towers.

Class size: Class size: Minimum 8 students – Maximum 12 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of a Rappelling Course

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED: Approved sewn type harness

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

2 weekends
Friday & Saturday
07/14 – 07/2275.00100.00
International Training Life Support
Registration at atlanticambulance.org
07/15 & 16, 2017
See pages 45 – 49  for specific dates and Instructions
250.00250.00

Junior Firefighting - Daytime (1705)

Junior Firefighting

  • June 26 – July 24 (Daytime) (1704)
    Orientation 06/12/17 (6 p.m.)
  • July 17 – August 11 (Daytime) (1705)
    Orientation 07/10/17 (6 p.m.)

Junior Training will consist of 150 hours which will include every part of our Fire Fighter 1 program except power tools.

Along with the Academy registration form, the following must be read and/or completed to attend this class:

The NJ Division of Fire Safety final examination will be administered at the end of this course. Upon completion of course a Junior Fire Fighter Program certificate will be issued. A Fire Fighter 1 certificate will be issued upon the recruits’ 18th birthday. Proof, in writing, that the student successfully completed power tools training with their department must be given to Academy.

Class size: Maximum 24 students

MANDATORY: Completion of OSHA Respiratory Clearance Certification & Current Fit Test Documentation

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

4 weeks
Mondays thru Fridays
Orientation 07/10 – 6:00pm
Filled course
07/17 – 08/11
250.00350.00

Fire Fighter 2 (1622)

Fire Fighter 2

  • February 28 – June 15, 2017 (1721)
  • August 14 – December 11, 2017 (1722)

Fire Fighter 2 is the second level of a progression which includes Fire Fighter 1, 2, and 3. Instruction at this level will be aimed at providing the student with the skills and knowledge necessary to function under general supervision. Students will learn how to function safely and effectively as an integral member of a fire fighting team. Successful students will be trained to perform fire fighting activities requiring the student to maintain direct communication with a supervisor. Full Personal Protective Equipment is required for all sessions.

Class size: Maximum 24 students

MANDATORY REQUIREMENT: Copy of current SCBA Fit Test to be handed in the first session.

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1 and a minimum of two years experience with a fire department. A letter stating active membership from the Fire Department Chief must accompany Registration for this course.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

18 weeks
Mondays & Wednesdays
08/14 – 12/11
No Class  09/04, 10/09, 11/22
250.00350.00

Fire Fighter 1 (1706)

Fire Fighter 1

  • January 23 – June 14, 2017 (1701)
    Orientation January 17, 2017, 7:30pm
  • January 24 – May 9, 2017 (1702)
    Orientation January 17, 2016 7:30pm
  • June 19 – July 17, 2017 (1703)
    Orientation June 12, 2017, 6:00pm
  • August 15 – December 9, 2017 (1706)
    Orientation August 8, 2017, 7:30pm

Along with the Academy registration form, the following must be read and/or completed to attend this class:

Fire Fighter 1 is the first level of a progressive program.  This level introduces the novice firefighter to the basics of nationally recognized fire fighting techniques.  Methods of instruction will include classroom theory as well as skill oriented “hands‑on” drill sessions.  Student performance will be evaluated throughout the course including mid‑term and final exams, both written and practical.  The New Jersey Division of Fire Safety’s standardized Fire Fighter 1 test is given as part of the final exam.

Fire Fighter 1 meets the performance objectives of the N.F.P.A. standard 1001 and N.J.A.C. 5:73‑4.3 standard which will allow a firefighter to perform firefighting under direct supervision.  All students will receive ICS Orientation, Bloodborne Pathogens, Right to Know and Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operational Levels of training as required by N.J.A.C. 5:75-6.1.  Full Personal Protective Equipment is required for ALL sessions.

Class size: Maximum 34 students

This course’s dress code requires a shirt. Click here to order.

MANDATORY:  Completion of OSHA Respiratory Clearance Certification & Current Fit Test Documentation.

Course is approved for college credits by the County College of Morris.

17 weeks
Tuesdays & Saturdays
Orientation August 08 – 7:30pm
Filled course
08/15 – 12/09
No Class 09/02, 09/16,
11/07, 11/25
250.00350.00

Fire Inspector

Fire Inspector

The course of study for Fire Inspector certification will consist of a planned pattern of instruction and experiences designed to meet the “New Jersey Standards.” The course will provide at least 90 contact hours of instruction not including examination and support time. The course will follow the guidelines of N.J.A.C. 5:71 – 4-9. In order to establish eligibility for certification as a Fire Inspector, applicants shall demonstrate competence by successful completion of the ICC Fire Inspector 1 examination at an additional cost to the student.

Class size: Minimum 5 students – Maximum 20 students

Textbooks will NOT be provided. Prior to class, students must purchase the required textbook, Code books and support material listed below. Students will also need to purchase a USB flashdrive the first night of class. Be advised, that the textbook and the IFC Fire Code can take up to four weeks to be delivered.

To be purchased prior to class:

  • Textbook: IFSTA Fire Inspector & Code Enforcement – 7th edition (Fire Protection Publications – 1 800 654-4055 Item #36741 ISBN: 978-0-87939-348-9 )
  • IFC Fire Code: International Code Council’s International Fire Code – 2006 New Jersey Edition. (Purchased through the International Code Council 1-800-786-4452 or http://shop.iccsafe.org/state-and-local-codes/new-jersey.html?p=3 )

To be purchased on the first night of class:

  • A standard USB flashdrive is required to be purchased. This flashdrive has various support documents that are necessary for the program and will cost between $5 and $10 dollars. Cash only.
  • NJ Fire Code: The New Jersey State Fire Code will be available for purchase the first night of class. The book must be paid for on the first evening of class. Please bring a blank check.
16 weeks
Tues / Thurs /
2 Saturdays
Filled course
08/22 – 11/21
No Class 11/07
550.00600.00

Driver Simulator Training

Driver Simulator Training

This course is designed to reinforce a driver’s ability to develop a system that will assist in making sound decisions and reduce driving risk. Managing risk involves controlling visibility, time, space and being aware of the traction available. The “Driving Simulator” is a training device which includes a steering wheel, brake, and accelerator controls, and provides a feel similar to those experienced in a real car. Through the use of this new technology, the attendee will learn how to react to various traffic elements such as pedestrians, other vehicles and road conditions, and how to predict possible conflict with other highway users. The simulator allows for the measurement of reaction time, braking time and total stopping distance.

Class size is limited to 8.
This course is open to Fire, Police and EMS personnel.

Conducted by Sgt. Joseph Matits, Netcong Borough Police Department

1 day
Wednesday
09/06
8:30am – 2:30pm
25.0050.00

Firefighting Strategy & Tactics

Firefighting Strategy and Tactics

Firefighting has a dual objective: saving lives and conserving property. To accomplish this objective as efficiently as possible, a sequence of operational responsibilities have been developed and refined over the years. This course is designed to meet the needs of Fire Officers with responsibilities to manage the operations of one or more companies in structural firefighting operations.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 day
Saturday
09/09
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

Telecommunicator's Training–9-1-1 Basic 40 Hour Course

Telecommunicator’s Training – 911

Basic 40-Hour Course

The basic 40 Hour Telecommunicator Training Course, as approved by the Office of Emergency Telecommunication Service (OETS), is designed for dispatchers having less than 320 hours of public safety dispatch experience. The course addresses both functional jobs of complaint taker and dispatcher, rather than dealing with them separately. Likewise, it deals with the basics of telecommunications for all public safety services. All participants who successfully complete this course will be certified by the State Office of Emergency Telecommunication Service as a P.S.A.P. operator.

Conducted by the Morris County Department of Law and Public Safety, Communications Division
Class size is limited to 25.

5 days
Monday thru Friday
09/11 – 09/15
8:30am – 4:30pm
175.00200.00

Fire Instructor - Level 2

Fire Instructor Level 2

This 40 hour course of instruction meets the requirements of NFPA 1041, Standard for Fire Service Instructor Professional Qualifications, 2002 edition, specified at N.J.A.C. 5:73-5.3(c).

PRE-REQUISITE: 21 years of age, NJ Certified Firefighter 1 for three years and two years experience as an instructor.

5 weeks
Tuesdays & Thursday
09/12 – 10/12
6:30pm – 10:30pm
250.00300.00

Fire Service Harness

Fire Service Harness

This six hour course is designed to instruct the student in the proper techniques of using a fire service harness. The student will learn how to rappel with the harness and the other uses of the harness.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 16 students

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED: Gemtor Fire Service Harness, Full Personal Protective Equipment

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter I

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

2 nights
Tuesday & Thursday
09/19 & 09/2175.00100.00

Vehicle Rescue Scenario Drills

Vehicle Rescue Scenario Drills

“There’s been a terrible accident” will be heard multiple times during the practical sessions. Students will be given the opportunity to evaluate and operate in simulated vehicle rescue scenarios. Operations will be evaluated and critiqued prior to each new scenario.

Class size: Maximum 20 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful Completion of Vehicle Rescue 1 or Vehicle Rescue Basic, Hand Tools & Hydraulic Tools.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 weekend
Friday & Saturday
Canceled course
09/22 & 09/23
250.00300.00

Building Construction

Building Construction for the Fire Service

This class is designed to inform the student of different types of building construction. This knowledge will help the student better understand the possibilities of fire spread, collapse and the safety issues with each type of construction.

Class size: Minimum 15 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 SaturdayCanceled course
09/30
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

FEMA NIMS I-200

FEMA NIMS I-200

  • April 3 & 4: 2 days (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • April 11, 13, 18 & 20 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • October 2 & 3: 2 days (starts at 8:30 a.m.)

This sixteen hour program addresses the need for an incident management system, an overview of the structure and expansibility of ICS, an understanding of the command skills needed by officers and firefighters to use ICS’ guidelines effectively, using scenario practices in its application. Appendixes including guidelines and resource information for setting up and implementing a departmental ICS will be provided.

This course will meet the requirements of N.J.A.C. 5:75-6.1 for certification of Incident Management Level I.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS I-100 and I-700

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

2 days
Monday & Tuesday
10/02 & 10/03
8:30am – 4:30pm
25.0050.00
Refresher Courses For Bloodborne Pathogens, Haz Mat Awareness, Right-To-Know And NIMS½ day
Tuesday
Canceled course
10/03
8:30am – 12:30pm
No Fee25.00

Incident Size Up

Incident Size Up

Using nationally recognized techniques, this course will assist the Incident Commander or First Responder arriving on scene in performing the size-up process. A good size-up enhances the safety of the responders and increases the chances for a positive outcome. This course will cover those areas critical in performing the size-up process.

Class size: Minimum 15 students – Maximum 40 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 day
Saturday
10/07
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

Engine Company Operations

Engine Company Operations

This course is designed to cover the roles and responsibilities of the first and second arriving Engine Companies. This includes establishing a water source, stretching a dry attack line, stretching a wet attack line, line placement and searching off the line. This is a Friday night and all day Saturday course. Friday night will be conducted in a classroom and Saturday will be all day on the fire grounds. This course is along the same format as Truck Company Operations.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 20 students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1.

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

1 weekend
Friday & Saturday
10/13 & 10/1475.00100.00

Fire Instructor - Level 1

Fire Instructor Level 1

This 40 hour course of instruction meets the requirements of NFPA 1041, Standard for Fire Service Instructor Professional Qualifications, 2002 edition, specified at N.J.A.C. 5:73-5.2(c). Students will need the 8th edition of IFSTA Fire and Emergency Services Instructor manual.

Note: Drill Ground Instructor will be covered on the last day of this course.

Textbooks will NOT be provided. All students must purchase the required textbooks and manuals prior to attending class.

PRE-REQUISITE: 21 years of age and NJ Certified Firefighter 1 for three years.

5 weeks
Tuesday
10/10 – 11/14
8:00am – 4:00pm
(holiday on 11/7)
250.00300.00

Emergency Medical Dispatch

Emergency Medical Dispatch

A required course for 9-1-1 Telecommunicators. This state approved certification course will enable the student to properly answer, prioritize and dispatch calls for medical aid, and to provide instructions for preliminary emergency medical care prior to arrival of emergency medical personnel. This class will include practical exercises and demonstrations.

This course is being offered after the Basic Police Class graduates so that the recently graduated police officers can attend this course. Class size is limited to 25.

PRE-REQUISITE: 9-1-1 Telecommunicator’s Training & C.P.R. Certification. Copies of Certificates must accompany registration.

Conducted by the Morris County Department of Law and Public Safety
Communications Division

4 days
Tuesday thru Friday
10/17 – 10/20
8:30am – 4:30pm
75.00100.00

Rapid Intervention Crew / Safety And Survival

Rapid Intervention Crew / Safety and Survival Weekend

This weekend course will cover current techniques and procedures in Rapid Intervention Company (RIC) Operations as well as Firefighter Safety and Survival Skills. Stations will cover many subject areas including:

  • Emergency Window Egress
  • SCBA/Mask Confidence Skills
  • Below Grade Rescue
  • Wall Breach / SCBA Emergency Skills
  • Upper Floor Rescue
  • Ladder Bailout
  • Downed Firefighter Rescue Drills (Nance, Pittsburg, Rochester, Denver)

Friday night will involve lectures and course material presentations while Saturday and Sunday will be hands-on stations. This weekend course meets and exceeds the State’s guidelines for Rapid Intervention Crews. This course is exceptionally physically demanding. Candidates shall have a minimum of one-year of firefighting experience and shall be OSHA Respiratory Cleared and within Fit-Test guidelines. Please note scheduled starting times:

  • Friday – 6:30 P.M. Registration / 7:00 P.M. Lecture & Presentations
  • Saturday – 7:30 A.M. Start
  • Sunday – 7:30 A.M. Start

Cancellations must be made at least two business days prior to the start of the course so sufficient time is allowed to contact students from the waiting list. All students who do not attend the course – their department will be billed accordingly.

1 weekend
Fri., Sat. & Sun.
10/20 – 10/22225.00300.00

FEMA NIMS I-300

FEMA NIMS I-300

  • May 9, 10 & 11: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • May 16, 18, 23, 25, 30 & June 1 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • October 31, November 1 & 2: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • November 13, 15, 20, 27 & 29, & Dec 4 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This twenty-four hour program addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenarios and applications of using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

This course will meet the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 for certification of Incident Command Level 2 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order #50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students.

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS I-200

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

3 days
Tuesday thru Thursday
10/31 – 11/02
8:30am – 4:30pm
75.00100.00

Developing SOP / SOG's for the Fire Service

Developing SOP / SOG’s for the Fire Service

This six-hour course is designed for those individuals who will be developing SOP / SOG’s for their department personnel. The importance of all departments having a document outlining polices, expected behavior and performance requirements cannot be over emphasized. Topics to be covered include differences between SOP / SOG’s, their importance, areas which need to be addressed, resources that should be used in their development and who should be involved in the development of the document.

Class size is limited to 40.

1 SaturdayCanceled course
11/04
8:00am – 3:00pm
75.00100.00

Driver Simulator Training

Driver Simulator Training

This course is designed to reinforce a driver’s ability to develop a system that will assist in making sound decisions and reduce driving risk. Managing risk involves controlling visibility, time, space and being aware of the traction available. The “Driving Simulator” is a training device which includes a steering wheel, brake, and accelerator controls, and provides a feel similar to those experienced in a real car. Through the use of this new technology, the attendee will learn how to react to various traffic elements such as pedestrians, other vehicles and road conditions, and how to predict possible conflict with other highway users. The simulator allows for the measurement of reaction time, braking time and total stopping distance.

Class size is limited to 8.
This course is open to Fire, Police and EMS personnel.

Conducted by Sgt. Joseph Matits, Netcong Borough Police Department

1 day
Thursday
Fire Course Dates and Costs List
11/09
8:30am – 2:30pm
25.0050.00

Truck Company Operations

Truck Company Operations

The Truck Company Operations course curriculum will include the operations of aerial ladders, elevating platforms, special truck company operations, search and rescue and ventilation as it applies to truck companies. Students will be asked to provide additional apparatus for the hands-on portion of the course.

Minimum 10 Students – Maximum 20 Students

PRE-REQUISITE: Successful completion of Fire Fighter 1

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training academy.

1 weekend
Friday & Saturday
Filled course
11/17 & 11/18
75.00100.00

FEMA NIMS I-300

FEMA NIMS I-300

  • May 9, 10 & 11: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • May 16, 18, 23, 25, 30 & June 1 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • October 31, November 1 & 2: Daytime (starts at 8:30 a.m.)
  • November 13, 15, 20, 27 & 29, & Dec 4 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This twenty-four hour program addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenarios and applications of using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

This course will meet the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 for certification of Incident Command Level 2 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order #50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – Maximum 40 students.

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS I-200

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

6 nights
Monday & Wednesday
11/13 – 12/4
7:00pm – 11:00pm
No Class 11/22
75.00100.00

FEMA NIMS I-400

FEMA NIMS I-400

  • June 7 & 8 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • June 13, 15, 20, & 22 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • November 30 & December 1 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • December 5, 7, 12, & 14 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This sixteen hour course addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenario and applications for planned and unplanned events using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

For the best results of this course EMS, Fire and Police agencies need to be in attendance together. Outreach courses held by individual jurisdictions (towns, boroughs, fire districts) alone or in conjunction with other jurisdictions is preferred.

This course meets the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 certification of Incident Management Level 3 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order # 50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – maximum 40 students

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS-I-300

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

2 days
Thursday & Friday
11/30 & 12/01
8:30am – 4:30pm
75.00100.00

FEMA NIMS I-400

FEMA NIMS I-400

  • June 7 & 8 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • June 13, 15, 20, & 22 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)
  • November 30 & December 1 (8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
  • December 5, 7, 12, & 14 (7:00 – 11:00 p.m.)

This sixteen hour course addresses the next level of incident management. The course provides the scenario and applications for planned and unplanned events using the NIMS Incident Command System at this level. Both lecture and interactive training is used to reinforce the methods and application of this level of management.

For the best results of this course EMS, Fire and Police agencies need to be in attendance together. Outreach courses held by individual jurisdictions (towns, boroughs, fire districts) alone or in conjunction with other jurisdictions is preferred.

This course meets the requirements of NJAC5:75-6.1 certification of Incident Management Level 3 and the requirements of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order # 50.

Class size: Minimum 10 students – maximum 40 students

PRE REQUISITE: Successful completion of ICS-I-300

Documentation of successful completion must accompany registration if not conducted by our staff at Morris County Public Safety Training Academy.

4 nights
Tuesdays & Thursdays
12/05 – 12/14
7:00pm – 11:00pm
75.00100.00
Refresher Courses For Bloodborne Pathogens, Haz Mat Awareness, Right-To-Know And NIMS½ day
Thursday
12/07
12:30pm – 4:30pm
No Fee25.00